Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email

News: - Make sure you know the Forum Rules and Guidelines

Also check out these related sites:

Author Topic: Setlist changes during tour  (Read 10460 times)

OfflineGuitarman1972

• Camerado
Setlist changes during tour
« on: August 30, 2015, 12:57:57 PM »
It just struck me why probably not many changes are made in the setlist during a tour. After seeing this video of John  Mayer's Rig Rundown:

I never gave it much thought until i saw the video, cause being a musician myself most of the stuff in and around the bands I play we do ourselves. So we can easily change a few songs for the next setlist. But in megashows, like the one of our beloved Mark, the whole show is programmed. So minor changes don't really exist. One song change is kinda major change. Cause the whole band and a whole crew needs to be informed and know what to do. From the sound guys, the lighting crew, the guitar technicians, etc. And some of the equipment might need to be reprogrammed for the guitarplayers and the keyboardplayers.

This might be an eye-opener for those who complain about the same setlist during the tour.  ;D

Ofcourse the minor changes in the setlist from tour to tour is a whole other story.  :think

« Last Edit: August 30, 2015, 02:12:03 PM by Guitarman1972 »

Onlinedmg

• David Knopfler
Re: Setlist changes during tour
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2015, 01:08:59 PM »
What you say may be true and is understandable but surely that is why they have dress rehearsals?  This is why I have always said that for a while now they haven't rehearsed for long enough before a tour, probably not helped by having band member from across the pond.
"I'm playing all the right notes, but not necessarily in the right order."

Offlineborder_reiver

• Founder
  • Romeo
  • "I've been down in Louisiana playing on his album"
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2015, 10:54:30 PM »
Bruce Springsteen. And the argument is quickly invalid.